Back to Blog

How Victoria’s Points Test ranks skilled visa nomination ROIs

Victoria ranks all skilled visa nomination Registrations of Interest using a weighted points test. The 2026–27 priority industries are Healthcare, Social assistance, Education and Construction.

ROIs compete on their Victorian Points Test total

Victoria uses the Victorian Points Test (VPT) to rank every Registration of Interest (ROI) when selecting candidates for state nomination for the Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) and the Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491). Applicants in all eligible occupations can submit an ROI, and all ROIs are ranked using the test.

The VPT combines seven weighted factors: age, English language level, years of experience in the nominated occupation, educational qualification, occupation skill level, partner’s skill (if applicable), and annual earnings from skilled employment in Victoria (if applicable). Each contributes to the total, and ROIs are ranked from highest to lowest.

There is no fixed VPT pass mark. Invitations go to ROIs with the highest totals in each invitation round, so the result depends on the other ROIs in the relevant pool at that time.

Separately, the Australian Government requires applicants to score at least 65 points on the Australian points test. That government threshold is distinct from the Victorian ranking.

Two routes to an invitation

The program describes two ways an ROI can be invited. Under the most competitive route, Victoria invites ROIs with the highest VPT totals across all eligible occupations in the pool at that time. Under the priority industry route, it invites the highest-ranked ROIs within each priority industry in the pool at that time.

For 2026–27, the priority industries are Healthcare, Social assistance, Education and Construction. ROIs in each priority industry or industry subgroup are ranked using the VPT, with the highest totals invited to apply for nomination.

Priority status therefore provides a separate industry-based comparison; the source does not specify that every ROI in a priority industry will be invited or guarantee an invitation.

The supplied official information names the four priority industries but does not list the individual occupations within them. It says certain occupations are prioritised to address critical skills needs.

How the VPT factors are scored

The published age scores cover ages 18 to 44: age 18 scores 265 points; 19 scores 282; ages 20–29 score 300; age 30 scores 286; 31 scores 270; 32 scores 256; 33 scores 240; 34 scores 226; 35 scores 210; 36 scores 196; 37 scores 180; 38 scores 166; 39 scores 150; 40 scores 136; 41 scores 106; 42 scores 76; 43 scores 46; and 44 scores 16. The supplied score table does not state an age score for ages outside this range.

English language scores are Competent, 0 points; Proficient, 100; and Superior, 200. Experience in the nominated occupation scores 0 points for 0 years, 20 for 1 year, 40 for 2–3 years, 60 for 4–5 years, 80 for 6–7 years, and 100 for more than 8 years. The supplied table does not specify a score for exactly 8 years.

For education, Other scores 25 points, Bachelors and Honours 50, Masters 75, and PhD 100. For occupation skill level, level 1 scores 50 points, while levels 2 and 3 each score 0.

Partner and Victorian earnings points

Partner’s skill scores 50 points only where all the stated conditions apply: the applicant has claimed 10 points for Partner Skills in their SkillSelect EOI, the partner will be included in the state-nominated visa application, and the partner’s occupation is a current priority industry occupation. Otherwise, this factor scores 0 points.

Annual earnings points relate to current skilled employment in Victoria. The listed bands are: $80,000–$84,999, 8 points; $85,000–$89,999, 16; $90,000–$94,999, 24; $95,000–$99,999, 32; $100,000–$104,999, 39; $105,000–$109,999, 47; $110,000–$114,999, 55; $115,000–$119,999, 63; $120,000–$124,999, 71; $125,000–$129,999, 79; $130,000–$134,999, 87; $135,000–$139,999, 95; $140,000–$144,999, 103; $145,000–$149,999, 111; $150,000–$154,999, 118; $155,000–$159,999, 126; $160,000–$164,999, 134; $165,000–$169,999, 142; and $170,000 and over, 150.

The 2026–27 program year

The VPT is currently in use, while the named priority industries and occupations apply to the 2026–27 program year. The official publication date is not stated in the supplied material.

People considering Victorian nomination can review the VPT factors and the priority-industry route when assessing how their ROI is ranked. The points table describes the ranking criteria; it does not establish an individual’s eligibility or predict whether an invitation will be issued.

Official source

Live in Melbourne
Read the official publication

Disclaimer

General information only — not legal advice.

Share this article